Chapter 2 {Situation: Relocation}

I love checking the thesaurus, even when I’m sure of the word I’m using, sometimes I’m curious to see what other “smarter” words I could use. If you click on “relocation” you see terms such as “transfer” “removal” “replacement” “rearrangement”… Words that currently describe my life.

My life is in transfer mode: transfer from one country to another, from one time zone to another, from one culture to another, the list goes on.

And since we arrived here, and since our cargo arrived, I have been slowly unpacking, because, first we are staying in a rental for the moment and looking for somewhere to buy, so we didn’t want to empty all the boxes, and second I unpack what I need. For example, today I need the blender and by the time I look for the blender, my appetite has shifted, I find it 2 days later, then I don’t need it anymore… It’s becoming an entertainment thing really… Sort of a “Today We Look For” game… In other words, it’s a mess. A clean and organised one.

Basically, all I’m trying to do is make this easier for you if you are planning to relocate in the near or far future.

The only tip I left with was from a friend of mine who said: the first 4 months are the worst. And you know what? I think she is right, she has moved almost 6 times herself so I had hope in her advice.

So apart from the typical tips you would find online such as “clean as you go” or “label your boxes” (dah)…  here are my tips:

Time Well Spent:

It’s been 4 months now that we arrived in the land of spiders (yes, too many and everywhere), and I am finding it easier to wake up in the morning, I have a routine now but I miss people every single day. Spend all the time you can with people you love, whether it’s friends, family or even your nail therapist, just do it! You have no idea how much you’re going to miss them! Towards the end of my stay in Dubai, I thought the less I see of my friends, the less I’m going to miss them, I was an idiot, don’t be an idiot.

Pack logically:

Packing for relocation depends on one out of two scenarios:

  • You are shipping your furniture
  • You are not shipping your furniture

In the first scenario where you are shipping your stuff, and depending on how long your shipment is going to take to arrive and depending on where you’re staying when you arrive at your relocation destination and for how long, make sure you have enough clothes and other items before your shipment arrives. Everybody packs clothes, underwear, toothbrush; we’ve all been on vacation right? I’m talking items you do not wish to have in doubles in your life for example a hair dryer or an iron…

image1

In the case of no shipment, then I guess you’re just packing everything you didn’t sell or get rid of, and you’ll be fine because you’ll get out there and spend more money buying things you could have shipped for less, or not. I’m no expert!

We relocated from Dubai to the UK and decided to ship almost all of our furniture, clothes and home entertainment, we didn’t bother with kitchen appliances. We do not regret our decision because we struggled a little bit with where to sit and how to eat but it did pass and today I don’t remember how we did it without any furniture, but we did it!

Bottom line, shipping your furniture depends on 1- their state (if they’re old and have been shipped too many times, then leave them behind and look forward to a fresh new start) 2- your budget (some relocation companies charge too much, also your company should cover those fees if they are moving you) 3- how much you love your furniture (if you do, even old, ship it).

image2

Vacation Feel:

It does feel like a vacation for the first one or two weeks, we’ve all traveled for an average of 10 days for vacation right? And we’ve always known we were going back home. In this case, you are not going back home. Therefore, after this one-week or 10 days finish, you start realising this is forever, and it’s okay. So to avoid sentimental clashes and geographical shock, I recommend adapting to a routine as soon as you land. For example, if you go to gym on a weekly basis, go and find a gym when you arrive and continue going at the same pace. It will look different, it will smell different, but when you close your eyes, it won’t feel different.

image1 copy

Lifestyle Test:

Nothing prepares you to what you will be experiencing when you arrive at your destination. But things you know for a fact are going to change for you, start testing your abilities. In my case, we had a live-in nanny/maid because both D and I had full time jobs (I had a part time job for the last year) so we needed someone to help clean the house and help care for MM. Therefore, I never bothered making my bed, or changing the sheets or doing the dishes or mopping the floor or hoovering the couch….. My tip to you start doing that at least one month before you leave.

And my last advice is: Look forward to a new start and always be positive! Because life is definitely working out for you!

ax

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Lucine Lahoud says:

    Tres touchee ma fille. Pas facile de chambouler une vie.
    Mais bravo d’avoir traverse toutes ces etapes avec bcp de bravoure et de patience !
    Bisous !

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sylvia Malikian says:

    I love your blog and I would love to follow you and your story throughout your ordeal. Very helpful tips. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Going through the same ordeal !! maybe a bit easier and smoother one. when we moved almost a year ago to Toronto, we didn’t have a child and we did move empty handed because we thought it would be easier for us and actually it was.

    The main issues i am having now is that i am working from home.. expecting a baby end of summer and already overwhelmed by the tasks that you do at home from cooking to cleaning (stuff that you took for granted when you were back in lebanon – didn’t have live-in maid but i had someone coming at least twice a week to clean and a mother to send me weekly lunches…) …..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Aline! Thank you for your comment! We take so much for granted when we live surrounded with family and friends, but I guess our lifestyle now makes us so much stronger!! Good luck with the rest of your pregnancy, enjoy every bit of it, because everything as you know will change 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Hi Aline! Have you had the baby? How’s life treating you now? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

